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I. POLICY

A.

Village officers are responsible for conducting the
preliminary investigation of persons (adults/children)
reported as “missing.” Even though the person
making the missing person report is not reporting a
crime, he/she will be treated with dignity, respect,
courtesy, and sensitivity.

The Maryland Annotated Code Public Safety Article
Title 6 §3-601 and §3-602 mandate that law
enforcement agencies use the State of Maryland
Missing Person Report form for all missing adults/
children.

It is the policy of the Chevy Chase Village Police
Department to:

®  Accept without delay, a report of a missing
person, whether such a report is made in person,
via telephone or via other electronic means;

® Require anyone reporting a missing person by
telephone or other electronic means, to complete
the report in person as soon as practical,

® Accept a missing person report immediately and
without a mandatory waiting period;

® Inform the general public and family of missing
persons that no mandatory waiting period will
be imposed prior to accepting or investigating a
missing person report;

e  Utilize the Uniform Maryland Missing Person
report form. (Form 79)

II. DEFINITIONS

A.

Missing Adult — an individual, 18 years of age and
over, who is the subject of a missing persons report
filed with a law enforcement agency and whose
whereabouts are unknown.

Critical Missing Adult — a missing individual, 18
years of age and over, who meets one or more of the
following criteria:

® issenile
® is mentally deficient
® is physically handicapped
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® s suicidal

® is missing following a catastrophic event

® the disappearance is of a suspicious or
dangerous nature

e foul play is suspected

C. Missing Child — an individual, under the age of 18
years, who is the subject a missing persons report
filed with a law enforcement agency and whose
whereabouts are unknown.

D. Critical Missing Child — a missing child who
meets one or more of the following criteria (see
Family Law §9-402):

® has not been the subject of a prior missing
person (runaway) report

e suffers from a mental or physical handicap or
illness

® has previously been the subject of a child abuse
report filed with the State or local law
enforcement agency

® is missing following a catastrophic event
® isunder 17 years of age

® the disappearance is of a suspicious or
dangerous nature

® the person filing the report of a missing child
has reason to believe that the missing child may
have been abducted

E. Unidentified Child—A child/juvenile whose
identity is unknown or cannot be determined with
certainty. Often, an unidentified child is unable to
identify themselves due to their tender years, illness,
injury or_other condition. An unidentified child is
generally ‘found’ or located before they are officially
reported missing to police.

II1. MISSING ADULTS - INITIAL INVESTIGATION

Village officers dispatched to a missing adult call will
make personal contact with the complainant and:

1. Conduct a preliminary investigation



2.
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If a critical missing person is involved:

® Conduct an initial search which may in-
clude but is not limited to:

i.  athorough check of the home and
vehicles

ii. search of the immediate area

iii. search of the place last seen

® Place a radio lookout with ECC

®  Notify the Lieutenant/Chief and the MCP
Duty Commander

® Notify a supervisor who will respond to
the scene (this may be the on duty MCP
Sergeant)

e Notify the 2™ District MCP Investigative
Section as soon as the on scene
supervisor believes their involvement
would be beneficial

® [Initiate intensive search procedures as
determined by the supervisor, which may
include but are not limited to:

i.  contacting friends/relatives
ii. use of K-9
iii. use of helicopter

iv. use of Reverse 9-1-1 to notify the
community of an active intensive
search

® Remain in contact with the complainant
during an active search to ensure police
are aware if victim makes contact and to
obtain additional information as needed.

® Notify MCP Media Services Division (if
after hours, confer with the MCP duty
commander regarding the need to notify
the on-call Media representative. Fax a
copy of the report to MCP Media Ser-

Advise the complainant that:

e  The case will be assigned to the 2™
District MCP Investigative section for
follow-up investigation.

® The investigator assigned to the case will
contact them.

®  They should immediately contact ECC if

10.

the missing adult returns before the investiga-
tor contacts them.

Confer with the Lieutenant regarding sending a
teletype if appropriate.

NCIC Entry — (see NCIC entry criteria that follows
in this general order); for an NCIC entry, the
complainant must sign an MCP 592, “NCIC Adult
Missing Person Attestment Statement,” at the time
of the filing of the report attesting to the
circumstances of the missing person. NCIC
regulations mandate that a signed statement be
provided to the police department taking the report
to aid in the protection of the missing person’s right
to privacy. The MCP 592 will be submitted along
with the missing persons report.

NCIC entry must be made for any adult, at least
18 and under 21 years old. An MCP 592 is not
necessary (Suzanne’s Law).

Write the initial report (MD Missing Person
Report) including but not limited to:

®  Full description — attach photograph, full face,
if available

®  Associates, places frequented threats of
violence, etc.

®  Prescribed medications, mental or physical
ailments, doctors, if known, and place of
employment and/or school.

®  Whether or not a radio lookout was placed.
® Investigator notified when appropriate.

® A statement regarding whether or not an NCIC
entry was made and the ID number of the MRC
operator who made it.

Prior to the end of the officer’s tour-of-duty, leave a
copy of the report or fax a copy of the report to the
2" District MCP Investigative Sergeant responsible
for the assignment of the follow up investigation.

If the officer solicited the assistance of an
individual or business in locating a missing adult
and the adult is subsequently located, the officer
will ensure that follow up contact is made to inform
the individual or business that the adult has been
located.

If the event is determined to be criminal in nature
(foul play suspected, victim located deceased, etc.)
the appropriate MCP investigative unit will be
notified immediately and will assume responsibility
for the investigation.



IV. MISSING CHILDREN - INITIAL INVESTIGATION

All reports of anyone under 18 years of age missing from
home or court ordered placement in Montgomery County,
under the provisions of Family Law §9-401 or §9-402
will be entitled “Missing Children” so the necessary pro-
visions of the law may be met.

Village officers dispatched to a missing child call will
make personal contact with the complainant and:

1.
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Conduct a preliminary investigation. Use the
Search Urgency Evaluation sheet (MCP 617) to
guide your decision regarding immediate search
efforts.

Conduct an initial search which may include, but
is not limited to:

® A thorough check of the home and vehicles
® Search of the immediate area

e Search of place last seen
Place a radio lookout with ECC.

Notify a supervisor (MCP if no Village
supervisor available) who will respond to the
scene.

Notify the MCP duty commander.

Place subject in NCIC immediately via County

MRC. I

Notify MCP Special Victims Investigations

Division (SVID) at |} Bl o the on-

call investigator via ECC.

Consider initiating an AMBER Alert in
coordination with MCPD if criteria are met (see

Section X below).

Initiate intensive search procedures as
determined by the supervisor which may include,
but not limited to:

Contact friends and/or relatives
Use K-9
Use of helicopter

Use of Reverse 9-1-1 to notify the
community of an active intensive search

Check youth congregating locations

® Enlist the aid of the State Police or other law
enforcement agencies.

® (Coordinate any volunteer searchers

10. Remain in contact with the complainant during
an active search to ensure police are aware if
victim makes contact and to obtain additional
information as needed.

11. Notify Media (MCP) — if it is after hours, confer
with the MCP duty commander regarding the
need to notify the on-call Media representative.
Fax a copy of the report to Media at

12. Notify the National Center for Missing and Ex-
ploited Children «

13. Advise the complainant that:

®  The case will be assigned to the Missing
Children Section of SVID for follow up in-
vestigation.

® The investigator assigned to the case will
contact them.

® They should contact ECC if the child returns
home before SVID contacts them.

14. Obtain a recent photograph of the missing child,
preferably a portrait-type photo.

15. Before the officer’s shift ends:

®  Complete all reports and initiate appropriate
teletype for missing children believed to be
in a specific location outside Montgomery
County.

e Faxreport to SVID at |

16. Ifthe officer solicited the assistance of an
individual or business in locating a missing child
and the child is subsequently located, the officer
will ensure that follow up contact is made to
inform the individual or business that the child
has been located.

V. UNIDENTIFIED CHILDREN—INITIAL
INVESTIGATION

A. Officers are reminded that §3-814 of the Courts and
Judicial Proceedings Article permits an officer to
take a child into custody if the child is in danger due
to his/her surroundings.

B. Additionally, §10-622 of the Health General Article
permits an officer to take a child (or any person) into
custody for the purpose of an emergency evaluation
(EEP) if, based upon the officer’s personal
observations, the officer has reason to believe that the
child has a mental disorder and presents a danger to
the life or safety of themselves or another.



C.

D.

In an effort to identify an unidentified child, officers
must promptly do the following:

1. Determine if the child needs medical attention,
and if so, summon EMS.

2. Notify ECC and provide the child’s description
and current location in the event a parent or
guardian calls to report the child missing.

3. Notify the on-duty MCPD patrol supervisor and
their CCVPD supervisor.

4. Notify the Montgomery County SVID at
or contact the on call SVID
investigator through ECC.

5. If'the child is not in need of medical treatment,
officers may bring the child to the station or to
an MCP district station on a temporary basis for
the child’s protection until the child is reunited
with family or until other arrangements are
made.

6. If the child’s identity is not determined or the
child cannot readily be reunited with his/her
family, officers must consult with the SVID
investigator regarding next steps which may
include foster placement through Child

Protective Services at ||| | NN

Other Resources:

1. Officers should check NCIC’s Unidentified
Persons File which uses physical descriptors
to aid in identifying unknown persons.

2. Officers should also consider checking the
website for the National Center for Missing
and Exploited children at
www.missingkids.com.

VI. MISSING CHILDREN/RUNAWAY - FOLLOW UP
INVESTIGATION

A.

MCP Family Crimes Division (FCD) will conduct
follow up investigations.

The FCD investigator will immediately contact the
complainant to:

e Introduce self as the investigating officer

® Ascertain development of leads since original
report was taken

®  Assume responsibility for search from patrol
personnel

® Notify the appropriate local Department of
Social Services and to the extent possible, obtain
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any information that may assist in the location of
the missing child/runaway.

The investigation will be transferred to the district
investigative section where the child was originally
reported missing when the child in question turns 18
years old.

VIL.NCIC ENTRY CRITERIA

A. An NCIC entry can only be made if the missing

VIIIL.

person falls into one or more of the following
categories:

1. Disability — an individual of any age who is
missing and under proven physical/mental
disability or is senile, thereby subjecting the
individual or others to personal and immediate
danger.

2. Endangered — an individual of any age who is
missing under circumstances indicating that the
individual’s physical safety may be in danger.

3. Involuntary — an individual of any age who is
missing under circumstances indicating that the
disappearance may not have been voluntary, i.e.
abduction or kidnapping.

4. Juvenile — an individual who is missing and
declared unemancipated as defined by the laws
of the individual’s State of residence and does
not meet any of the criteria set forth in any of the
above categories.

5. Catastrophe Victim — an individual of any age
who is missing after a catastrophe.

6. Other — Missing person is at least 18 and
under 21 years old (Suzanne’s Law) or a person
aged 21 or older not meeting any other category
who is missing and for whom there is reasonable
concern for safety

If the missing person does not fit into any of the entry
categories, an NCIC entry will not be made. A
statement in the report will indicate that no entry as
made (for example, “The subject does not meet the
entry criteria for NCIC therefore no computer entry
was made”).

CLOSURE/CANCELLATION

Missing person reports can only be closed by a patrol
unit or investigative unit.

The officer closing the case will:

®  Verify the return and identity of the missing


http://www.missingkids.com

person. If the missing person is found in another
jurisdiction, the officer will have the police
department in that jurisdiction make the
verification.

® (Cancel any teletypes, lookouts, or NCIC entries.

®  Write a supplemental report including, but not
limited to:

1. location where the subject was located.
2. subject’s physical and mental condition

3. synopsis of any criminal charges
contemplated.

® Notify the Media (MCP) as soon as practical if a
press release was previously issued and fax a
copy of the supplement report to Media.

®  Advise the original complainant of the relevant
details of the case and the subject’s location.
Officers are cautioned in this regard that every
case presents different problems and that
discretion will be exercised where appropriate in
furnishing information.

1. Ifit develops that the missing person was
the subject of foul play or has been located

If a critical missing adult is involved, the officer
will notify the district investigator immediately.

In a non-critical case, the officer will
immediately contact the jurisdiction where the
individual is believed to be missing and note this
information in the report to include a point of
contact and a phone number for the other
jurisdiction.

Once an investigator (MCP) is assigned to the
case, he will act as liaison between the
complainant and the jurisdiction where the
individual is believed to be missing.

Depending on the location and circumstances,
the duty commander can offer the department’s
(MCP) canine unit and other resources as
assistance to the outside jurisdiction.

NCIC entry is the responsibility of the
jurisdiction where the individual is believed to
be or last know to be.

X. AMBER ALERTS

A. The Maryland Amber Plan is a collaborative

either deceased or in severely deteriorated
physical or mental condition, personal
contact will be made with the complainant
by the lead investigative unit.

2. In cases involving missing juveniles located

approach between broadcasters, MSP, and area law
enforcement agencies for response to the abduction
of children. “Amber” is an acronym for America’s
Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response and is a

protocol for alerting the public of a child abduction to
solicit information useful in the investigation and

outside Montgomery County, NCIC entries
can only be cancelled upon return to this
jurisdiction. To accomplish this, officers
will inform the guardian to immediately
contact FCD when the juvenile’s location
and condition are verified by another police
agency and the legal guardian grants
permission for the child to remain at that
location.

3. In all other cases, telephone contact will
suffice.

IX. COUNTY RESIDENT MISSING OUTSIDE THE
COUNTY

When a call is received concerning a county resident who
is believed to be missing in another jurisdiction (e.g.
Florida, California, France, etc.) with circumstances that
would warrant an investigation if the individual were
missing in Montgomery County, the following procedures
will be followed:

1. A police report will be written and a copy
forwarded to the district investigative section.
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recovery of abducted children.

B. AMBER Alert Criteria

1.

The police agency has received and confirmed a

reported child abduction; and

The child is 14 years of age or younger; and

Evidence exists to further believe the child is

missing against their will and not simply missing
(evewitness, physical evidence, etc.); and

Evidence suggests a threat to the child’s safety;

and

The child is likely to be within the Maryland

broadcasting area; and

There is a victim/suspect description, direction
of travel, vehicle information, or something that
can be described to the public to be on the look-

out for.




C. Once the patrol officer verifies the kidnapping/
abduction and that all of the criteria as been met, the
officer will place a lookout stating “Amber Alert
pending.” A Sergeant from SVID, Missing Children
Section, will confirm that all of the criteria has been
met and then contact the MSP Duty Commander in
Pikesville to request the Amber Alert Plan be placed
in motion.

XI. SILVER ALERTS

A. The Silver Alert Program applies to anyone who has
a cognitive impairment to the extent that he/she
requires assistance from a caregiver. Cognitive
impairments include, but are not limited to,
Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia. Persons of all
ages can suffer from a cognitive impairment. The
intent of the program is to promptly alert public
safety agencies and the general public when a person
with a cognitive impairment is reported missing. The
Silver Alert will disseminate information on the
missing person quickly and to as many people as
possible, in an effort to locate and safely return the
individual.

B. Silver Alert Criteria

1. Only law enforcement agencies may request the
issuance of a Silver Alert.

2. The missing person must suffer from a cognitive
impairment, such as a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s
Disease or of Dementia, AND

3.  The missing person’s disappearance poses a
credible threat to the health and safety of the
individual, AND

4. The missing person is traveling in a vehicle and
there is enough descriptive information about
the missing person and vehicle for law
enforcement to issue an Alert, AND

5.  The investigating agency has already activated a

local or regional alert (press release completed)
by contacting media outlets in their jurisdiction,
AND

6. The missing person has been entered into the
National Crime Information Center (NCIC).

C. Once an MCPD investigator or Search
Coordinator verifies the missing person is
operating a vehicle, has a vehicle description
and valid tag number, and the missing person is
diagnosed with a cognitive impairment such as
Alzheimer’s or dementia, they may contact the
MSP Duty Commander in Pikesville to request a
Silver Alert be issued.
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XII.CHILD CUSTODY DISPUTES

A. Under Maryland law, either parent of a child is
presumed to have equal right to have custody of the
child, unless a court order states otherwise. A child
custody order of a Maryland court will supersede any
custody order issued by a court in another
jurisdiction, unless:

® The order from the outside jurisdiction was
issued after the Maryland order, and

®  The lawful custodian of the child consented
to the more recent order, or personally
participated in the legal process in the other
jurisdiction.

B. Officers should request a copy of a court order which
grants custody and should follow the dictates of that
order in determining which party may be allowed to
take the child. If no legal custody order is present,
officers will make no judgment on their own accord
as to which party should have custody, but will
advise all parties to seek the advice of an attorney.

C. When a custody order is in place involving a child
under the age of 16 and the order has been violated,
the lawful custodian must make a demand to the
person with the child for the return of the child. If
that demand is not met within 48 hours, the person
holding the child may be charged criminally under
the Family Law Article, Title 9-304. In such cases,
officers will contact the Missing Child/Runaway
Unit, FCD.

D. Officers may take any child into custody if there are
reasonable grounds to believe that the child is in
immediate danger from the child’s surroundings and
removal is necessary for protection. In such
instances Child Welfare should be contacted for

assistance o I

This directive voids the previous version dated 4/7/2013.






