Environment & Energy Committee

Applicable Committee Guidelines

The Environment and Energy Committee is classified as an Open Membership Committee. Membership is open to any interested residents who agree to engage in the work of the Committee and regularly attend scheduled Committee meetings.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes 


Marea E. Grant (Hatziolos), Ph.D., Chair, Term Expires: July 2025  

Sarah Cooper
Oliver Davidson
Peter Kilborn
Charlotte Kramer
Dina Lassow
Emily Lawson
Jonathan Lyons
Heloise Morgan
Diana Pape
Betsy Stephens
Ralph Stephens

Board Contact

Gary Crockett, Board Treasurer 

Staff Contact

Jennifer Young, Administrative & Constituent Services Assistant

For more information, view the full Committee Annual Reports, Guidelines for Committees and the Environment and Energy Committee Scope of Work.

RainScapes Presentation by Ann English, Program Director

On April 19, 2023, Ms. Ann English presented information about the Montgomery County RainScapes program, designed to help mitigate rainwater runoff by way of environmentally friendly landscaping.  
View the presentation materials here:

Used Bike Collection for Bikes for the World
April 16-17, 2021

A team of volunteers spearheaded this collection of 67 bikes. Read more here.

Chemical Pesticide Use on Lawns Meeting,
September 17, 2020

Featuring County Council member Tom Hucker and Mary Travaglini, Sustainable Landscapes Manager for the Montgomery County Department of the Environment. Read the Cover Note from the Committee and Comments From the Sierra Club here. Access to the virtual meeting recording is available here...

Battery Powered Leaf Blower Demonstrations on the Village Greens

Join committee members to learn about alternatives to gas powered lawn equipment- two dates available in November 2019. View the event flier here...

Landscape Noise, Pollution and Solutions Meeting,
September 28, 2019

Including presentations by Dr. Jamie Banks, Executive Director  of "Quiet Communities" (see the Quiet Communities Fact Sheet) and Mr. Chuck Elkins, J.D., Washington ANC3D Commissioner (see the Quiet Clean DC Powerpoint here). If you were unable to attend the informational meeting:
- the agenda is available here;
- full audio is available at this link.

Forever Plastics Article from the February 2018 Crier

Click to see the expanded article that includes informative websites as well as other articles about this issue.

Useful Documents