Photo: Lorem Ipsum

Connecticut Ave. Pedestrian Signal

CHEVY CHASE VILLAGE CONTINUES EFFORTS FOR A PEDESTRIAN SIGNAL ON CONNECTICUT AVENUE AT WEST LENOX STREET

In March, then-Chair of the Chevy Chase Village Board of Managers, Ms. Patricia Baptiste, appointed an ad hoc Pedestrian Safety Committee to continue efforts to obtain a pedestrian-activated traffic signal to allow pedestrians to cross Connecticut Avenue at Lenox Street. The signal must be approved by the State Highway Administration, which has denied the request stating that the area currently lacks the minimum number of pedestrians seeking to cross the avenue in accordance with thresholds that the State uses to determine if a signal is warranted. Although the Village has argued that residents of and visitors to the area are not attempting to cross given the current unsafe conditions, but would undoubtedly seek to cross if there was a safe way to do so, the State continues to point to the failure to meet the warrants as insufficient basis to proceed with the installation of a signal.

In July, the ad hoc Pedestrian Safety Committee sent a letter to the State Highway Administrator, Ms. Melinda Peters, reaffirming the Village’s request, and reiterating the unique factors that exist along this corridor that should serve as the basis for the State’s approval of our request. Please visit the Village website to view the community’s letter to Ms. Peters and for any further updated communication between the Village and the State Highway Administration.


---

As many residents know it is very difficult to travel on foot between the east and west sides of the Village. This issue is exacerbated for residents east of Connecticut Avenue traveling who want to visit the Village Hall or post office. The lack of safe pedestrian access across Connecticut Avenue between Bradley Lane and Chevy Chase Circle has been a decades-long concern for the residents of this and neighboring communities.

At the March regular meeting of the Chevy Chase Village Board of Managers, the Village Traffic Committee presented its research and recommendation requesting that the State Highway Administration (SHA) install a pedestrian-activated traffic signal at the intersection of Connecticut Avenue and Lenox Street. The Board unanimously voted to support the Committee's recommendation and has sent a letter to the SHA Administrator urging SHA to expedite installation of a signal. A copy of the Traffic Committee's report and the Village Board's letter to SHA can be viewed by clicking on the links below.

The Board thanks the members of the Traffic Committee, specifically Committee member Jan Acton and Committee Chair Porter Wheeler, for their efforts on this important public safety initiative. More information regarding this pending request will be uploaded to the Village website and included in future issues of the Crier as it becomes available.

Traffic Committee's Report

Village Board of Managers letter to the Maryland State Highway Administration

Montgomery County Council Presidents' letter to the Maryland State Highway Administration

Response received from the Maryland State Highway Administration to Chevy Chase Village letter

Village of Martin's Additions letter to the Maryland State Highway Administration

Letter of Support from Maryland State Delegate Al Carr to the Maryland State Highway Administration

Letter of Support from Maryland State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher to the Maryland State Highway Administration

Response received from the Maryland State Highway Administration to Montgomery County Council President's letter

Response received from the Maryland State Highway Administration to Village of Martin's Additions

Response received from the Maryland State Highway Administration to Chevy Chase Village  

Response received from the Maryland State Highway Administration to Chevy Chase Village - February 10, 2014

Letter to SHA Administrator from Village Traffic Committee Chair - March 5, 2014

Response received from SHA Administrator to Village Traffic Committee Chair - March 24, 2014

Letter from SHA to Board Chair Ms. Patricia Baptiste - April 15, 2014

Letter to SHA Administrator from Village ad-hoc Pedestrian Safety Committee Chair - July 28, 2014

Letter from SHA Administrator to Village ad-hoc Pedestrian Safety Committee Chair - August 14, 2014

Below is list of contact information for those copied on the letter to the Maryland State Highway Administration:

Maryland State Legislature

Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., Maryland District 18
James Senate Office Building, Room 203
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
E-mail:
richard.madaleno@senate.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., Maryland District 18
House Office Building, Room 222
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
E-mail:
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez
House Office Building, Room 220
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
E-mail:
ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher
House Office Building, Room 221
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
E-mail:
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Maryland State Highway Administration

Melinda Peters
Administrator, Maryland State Highway Administration
E-mail:
mpeters@sha.state.md.us

James Smith, Jr.
Secretary of Transportation, Maryland Department of Transportation
E-mail: jtsmith@mdot.state.md.us

Brian Young
District Engineer, State Highway Administration District 3
E-mail:
byoung@sha.state.md.us

Augustine Rebish
Assistant District Engineer, State Highway Administration District 3
E-mail:
arebish@sha.state.md.us

Anyesha Mookherjee
Assistant District Engineer - Traffic
E-mail: amookherjee@sha.state.md.us

Cedric Ward
Director, Office of Traffic & Safety, State Highway Administration
E-mail:
cward@sha.state.md.us 

Felecia Murphy
Deputy Director, Office of Traffic & Safety, State Highway Administration
E-mail:
fmurphy@sha.state.md.us

Montgomery County Council

Craig Rice, Council President
E-mail:
councilmember.rice@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Roger Berliner
E-mail:
Councilmember.Berliner@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Phil Andrews
E-mail:
councilmember.andrews@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Marc Elrich
E-mail:
councilmember.elrich@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Cherri Branson
E-mail:
councilmember.branson@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Nancy Floreen
E-mail:
councilmember.floreen@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember George Leventhal
E-mail:
councilmember.leventhal@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Nancy Navarro
E-mail:
councilmember.navarro@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Hans Riemer
E-mail:
councilmember.riemer@montgomerycountymd.gov