Photo: Lorem Ipsum

Village Committees

The Chevy Chase Village Board of Managers is committed to meaningful and wide-spread participation of Village residents in the governance of our community. Committees of residents serve as advisors to the Board. They provide a critical interface between the residents and the Board by generating a wealth of ideas, research and analysis for the policy initiatives that underlie good governance.

The Board relies on the support of two types of committees:

Standing Committees oversee the broad categories of Village governance, policy and resident enrichment. These are the Committee for Seniors, Community Relations Committee, Election Supervisors, Environment & Energy Committee, Financial Review Committee, Historic Preservation Commission Local Advisory Panel, Parks & Greenspaces Committee, Public Safety Committee, Traffic Committee, and Tree Committee.

ad hoc or Single Purpose Committees are dedicated to meeting a single, Board-referred objective and are of limited duration. The Board assignment defines the work of the committee and indicates whether the Board seeks advice whether to address a problem or issue facing the Village or advice on how to resolve a problem or issue.

To strengthen the role of Village committees and to ensure that their work is transparent and a model of democratic practice, the Board has adopted guidelines for Village committees (adopted January 2012).

Click here to view the full guidelines. All Committee Chairs are appointed by the Board of Managers. If you would like to join a committee, please click on the corresponding committee's link for that committee's specific membership information.

Click on the following headers to view the Committee's page, including their Scope of Work, Current Membership and Meeting Agendas & Minutes.

Standing Committees:

Committee for Seniors
Betty O'Connor, Chair

Community Relations Committee
Karen Spangler, Chair

Election Supervisors
Charlotte Jones Carroll, Chair

Environment & Energy Committee
Marilyn C. Bracken, Ph.D, co-Chair
Marea Hatziolos, Ph.D, co-Chair

Financial Review Committee
Louis Morsberger, Chair

Historic Preservation Commission Local Advisory Panel (LAP)
Thomas K. Bourke, Chair

Parks & Greenspaces Committee
Susan Kilborn, co-Chair
Margo Kingston, co-Chair

Public Safety Committee
Saul B. Goodman, Chair

Traffic Committee
Porter Wheeler, Chair

Tree Committee
Samuel Lawrence, Chair

ad hoc or Single Purpose Committees:

Western Grove Park Friends Group
Meredith Wellington, Chair

Pedestrian Safety Committee

For additional information regarding these Committees, please contact the Chevy Chase Village office at (301) 654-7300 or via e-mail at